"Better known as an animator, film maker and author, The Start Of It is a four track EP released by Paul J Bolger.


It’s not his first diversion into recording, his previous release The Moss House was recorded over twenty years ago. Given the success of his other artistic offerings you could possibly expect The Start Of It to be self indulgent and throwaway. Nothing could be further from the truth, it’s a really impressive listen across its four tracks that evoke the musical direction of early Elvis Costello, particularly on the standout track Lady Love & The Cavalier.


The album was co-produced by Bolger and Dave Molloy and features vocals, guitars and keyboard contributions from both producers, together with Ronnie O’Flynn on bass, Michael Black on drums and Cathleen Flynn on piano."


Review by Declan Culliton




The four song Start Of It EP and accompanying films are out in the world! 


The EP was recorded and co-produced by Dave Molloy at www.cellarclub.com and a crack team of studio musicians including Ronnie O'Flynn (bass) and Michael Black (drums and percussion). Special guest is Armagh based American composer Cathleen Flynn on piano.


The PjB logo and EP cover design was done by Fran Walsh Design. The photo on the EP cover is of Paul when he was around 4 years old in The Glen, Waterford, Ireland. The bike was his Dad's pride and joy, apart from the boy himself that is. 


The videos were produced by Paul and Stephen Butler for PillarStone Productions. Paul also wrote and directed all four videos and hired Waterford based cast and crew to make the videos.